All political parties and candidates contesting in the coming Sabah elections must pledge to restore Article 2(3) of the Sabah constitution which reads: “A person shall not hold office as the Yang di-Pertua Negeri for more than two terms either continuously or otherwise.” This Article 2(3) was passed during the 1987 PBS government for a very good reason.
The core reason is obvious. So that the Chief Minister of the day does not have to overcome the real head aches of a TYT who expects or wishes to be re-appointed beyond two terms. Each term is four years.
In December 2018, the term limit stipulated in Article 2(3) of the constitution was abolished. Legally, the TYT may now remain as TYT for life. No amount of assurances by the Chief Minister of the day will satisfy the people that the removal of the term limit is as noble as claimed.
It does not matter who Chief Minister or who the TYT is.  It is the office of the TYT that we must protect.
It was not in the Warisan or PH or BN or Gabungan Sabah or any other party election manifesto that the two-term limit on the TYT post will be removed. Why then, was the term limit removed? –
Datuk Yong Teck Lee
SAPP President, Ex-Chief Minister, lawyer
–The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the original author and do not necessarily reflect the official views and policies or position of Any content expressed by article contributors are their sole opinion.-Editor-in-Chief / BNN