LDP left BN

Datuk Teo Chee Kang

KOTA KINABALU: Liberal Democratic Party of Sabah (LDP) has left Barisan Nasional (BN).

They were defeated in all five seats contested during the 14th general election (GE14) recently and its president Datuk Teo Chee Kang deemed it a great blow to the party.

He said the vote was a clear message by the people that they wanted changes and so a decision to leave BN was made after much deliberation with his members.

Teo was defeated by Party Warisan Sabah candidate, Chong Chen Bin in Tanjung Kapor state seat in a five-corner fight, with a majority of 2,992 votes. Teo garnered 6,132 votes against Chong who collected 9,124 votes.

LDP Vice President Datuk Chin Shu Ying was defeated in the Likas state seat as well as Lim Kai Min who stood in Karamunting and Lim Ting Kai who stood in Merotai state seat. Party vice president, Datuk Lim Ming Hoo, also lost the Sandakan parliamentary seat.

This decision was made following Acting President of the United Pasokmomogun Kadazandusun Murut Organisation (UPKO), Datuk Seri Wilfred Madius Tangau’s  announcement that they were opting out of BN.-BNN